Sinfully good

Original Sin by Beth McMullen

By far, this is the funnest book I’ve read all year. It’s even got zippy cover art and everything.

Lucy Parks Hamilton isn’t really named Lucy Parks Hamilton. Neither is she really named Sally Sin, but that really was her code name when she worked as a spy for a CIA-like agency that tracked down weapons of mass destruction.

And now she’s a stay-at-home mom. …who drops her 3-year-old son Theo at preschool, only to keep the preschool under surveillance the entire time he’s there. Apparently old habits die hard.

And so do rogue spies who turned.

Lucy/Sally’s old nemesis, Ian Blackford, was a master spy until he went to the dark side and became a deadly arms dealer. (Dude’s also deadly handsome. And has a habit of kidnapping Sally for kicks.)

And now he’s resurrected himself from the dead, so Sally’s old boss visits her to recruit her to lure Blackford. And it ain’t so very easy to balance motherhood and espionage…

Lucy/Sally can kick some serious you-know-what, and she’s also a darn good mom. It’s a charming combo.

Readers of Janet Evanovich will find that Original Sin is not as over-the-top with the humor or bizarro situations, but it has the same light touch.

And I suggest this nonfiction pairing, which, to me, feels like an even better read-alike: Lindsay Moran’s Blowing My Cover: My Life as a CIA Spy. Moran worked for the CIA, and her book is a hoot.

The good news for us is that Original Sin feels like it’s going to be the first of a series. I can’t wait for more.

by

Reader, librarian, & happy little geek

2 thoughts on “Sinfully good

Leave a Reply